Testing Goals for 2018

I think that I have more or less accomplished my testing goals for this year. As expected there weren’t many changes at work; workload remained pretty much the same and I had enough free time to try the tools that I thought were interesting. I read most of the books on my reading list. I was able to get the testing team curious on API testing. I re-wrote the existing UI test suite to API-based tests because they’re faster, more readable, and easier to extend and maintain that way. I learned new skills – web application pentesting basics and a nifty test-driven software development workflow – that will be put to the test in the coming years.

What about 2018?

Hmm. Besides continued knowledge-sharing sessions and the practice of test-driven software development I don’t really have that many goals next year in terms of testing and development of software. I’m sure I’ll continue to take interesting online courses and be updated on what’s happening in the testing community but other than that I don’t know.

What I do know and what I believe I want to focus on more next year is taking better care of myself, outside of work. I’d like to get better at both preparing good food and exercising. I’d like to put my drawing skills to work once again. I’d like to take better care of friends and family. The skills I want to get better at now are not those that I can practice in front of a computer but on the field, both when alone and with other people.

I’ll have to try changing some of my existing ineffective habits and stories. It’s going to be a difficult 2018.

3 thoughts on “Testing Goals for 2018

  1. Pingback: Testing Bits – 12/24/17 – 12/30/17 | Testing Curator Blog

  2. Pingback: Notes from Scott James’ “Bony to Brawny: No B.S. Techniques To Stack On Slabs Of Lean Muscle Mass And Get Strong As Hell Regardless Of How Skinny You Are” | One Software Tester

  3. Pingback: Testing Goals for 2019 | One Software Tester

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.