Contemplating In-Office Knowledge-Sharing Sessions

In the past I tend to prepare presentation slides if I want to share something to tester colleagues at work, often clippings of interesting articles which I felt could be useful for our knowledge-sharing sessions. It worked, but after some time the sessions felt monotonous and tedious. Probably because I always have to explain in detail the ideas and the lessons behind those clippings. I try to make my presentations interesting, but I think that after a while hearing the same voice over and over can get old.

These days I’m sharing videos instead. The videos are usually recorded conference talks or tutorials I have watched and learned from in recent years, and I have taken care in listing the the ones that are insightful, fun, and relatively short. It’s like I’m inviting officemates to watch a short movie for free. The big change: I don’t take a lot of time talking during the knowledge-sharing anymore. There are of course still bits of discussions before, after, or during the showing of a video, whenever necessary, for explaining why I have taken a liking to the talk or to ask them about what they understood. We take turns telling stories about our experiences related to the ideas shared by the speaker, which is nice. And compared to the powerpoint presentations I did before, I felt that because the speaker is someone from outside it makes the ideas shared in the talks and tutorials feel more fresh and real than when I’m merely showing them quoted paragraphs from blogs. That makes it easier for my colleagues to get curious and actually learn something, which is exactly the point of the activity.

 

Leave a Reply

