The Lessons I Learned This Year About Software Testing

Last year I told myself I would take a step back from automation because I’ve already built tests with a working knowledge of Java and TestNG. Apparently, with the way things went this year, I was not satisfied after all with what I had. I went on to study Ruby with Watir and Cucumber for about half of 2016, and I learned how to run web applications without using browsers after that. And for a second year in a row I feel I overdid studying again, and maybe I’m getting too comfortable about writing test code. In any case, programming has become such a useful tool in my workflow – performing checks automatically that otherwise would have eaten up a chunk of my time and enabling me to test other things.

Some other realizations during the year:

  • Re-writing test code using Ruby with Watir and Cucumber and other useful ruby gems pointed out how messy the checks I wrote last year using Java was. It helps that the Ruby language has less boilerplate syntax but my earlier mistakes are more about refactoring and design rather than about the programming language itself. I still need more deliberate practice at that.
  • I’ve found out that I actually do security testing in my normal day-to-day exploratory work, but I’m not especially great at it because nobody has taught me how to perform good web security testing before. It seems that getting comfortable reading and manipulating API calls is a step towards becoming better at it.
  • Teams who develop software with agility does not necessarily mean they implement scrum or kanban. If there’s good communication and teamwork, teams can actually forego many of the rituals and focus on the actual work.
  • Writing automated checks with healthy test description language is an important skill.
  • People only learn to solve problems when they feel that those problems are worth solving. And problems that are worth solving for me does not mean they’re worth solving for other people too, so I should never stop using perspectives.
  • We can leverage REST calls with web automation to make them run a lot faster and more stable.
  • Exploratory testing is a prerequisite to automation.
  • Building a great team is difficult. There are a lot of factors to consider – team composition, empathy, attitude, member skill set, strengths and weaknesses, to name a few. It takes some time too.
Leave a Reply

