It’s About Communication

One big motivation for learning programming and testing applications technically is understanding what feelings and experiences do programmers face in their day-to-day work. Why do many of  them have a strong dislike towards bug fixing and other distractions? What sort of things go through their heads when they talk about databases and algorithms? Why do they say that a task is difficult when the changes needed from a user’s point of view are only minimal? Is working with legacy code really that terrible? How do programmers test their code? These are some of the questions that’s tough to answer, so I sought to learn how to write code myself. I wanted to put myself in their shoes and discover how I would feel in situations they often go through in building and maintaining applications, sort of. I thought that if I knew how they generally feel during such circumstances and knew how to code, it would greatly help improve my communication with them in the long run.

Based on my experience so far, it does.

Leave a Reply

