Jenkins User Interface Tweaks

Last week, I have found myself tinkering with Jenkins again because of several reasons. I wanted to schedule the CucumberWatir functional checks I’ve written in the past two months so I don’t have to run them every time in the terminal. I also wanted to have a record of the results of the latest checks so I can look back at them when I need to. More importantly, I wanted a place where anyone from the team can view the said checks and see if our Staging environment is stable or not according to the smoke tests.

Of course, I also wanted this place to be somewhat nice-looking, which the default Jenkins page somewhat lacks.

And this is what I ended up with. :)

And this is what I ended up with. 🙂

And here are the tweaks I did to make the Jenkins user interface a little better:

Upload a Jenkins Plugin

Upload a Jenkins Plugin

Set the Jenkins CSS theme to Material

Set the Jenkins CSS theme to Material

Update jenkins.xml to allow CSS content

Update jenkins.xml to allow CSS content

  • Allow HTML content in views and jobs descriptions. To do this:
    • Go to Manage Jenkins -> Configure Global Security
    • In the Markup Formatter field, select Raw HTML or Safe HTML
    • Click Save
Set View and Job descriptions to display HTML content

Set View and Job descriptions to display HTML content

  • Use the Ansicolor Plugin to properly display colors in the job’s console output. To do this:
    • Download the Ansicolor Plugin
    • Install the downloaded plugin to Jenkins (Manage Jenkins -> Manage Plugins -> Advanced -> Upload plugin)
    • Configure the desired job’s Build Environment to use the Color ANSI Console Output
Set a desired Jenkins job to use colored outputs in the console

Set a desired Jenkins job to use colored outputs in the console

Sample Jenkins colored console output

Sample Jenkins colored console output

Leave a Reply

