Yes, Read More Blogs

I have learned a lot about software testing by reading books like James Bach’s Lesson’s Learned in Software Testing, Lisa Crispin and Janet Gregory’s More Agile Testing, and Alan Richardson’s Dear Evil Tester. I’ve learned many things about agile software development by reading related books too, which include Gojko Adzic’s Impact Mapping, NewVoiceMedia’s So You Want to be a Scrum Master?, and Bernadette Jiwa’s Meaningful: The Story of Ideas that Fly. Books are always a great resource for mastering new ideas and concepts, especially when they’re written by authors who care deeply about the topic they’re writing about.

I also enjoy watching videos to digest new skills, which often works for me when I want to study tools and techniques. Google Tech Talks and Selenium Conference are two wonderful resources for keeping up with news about using automation in testing, while uDemy is where I usually look for interesting online courses.

And I got these book titles, video channels, and links from following blogs of people I look up to in the software testing community. Feeds from social media sites like Facebook and Twitter are noisy, are often a distraction. Blog posts on the other hand are often built by people who care about something, for people who enjoy doing the same things, which means readers are more likely to get what they really need directly from people who actually know what they’re talking about, some of those things not even found anywhere else. I’ve learned a great deal from such people, which is why I continue to read what they write and connect with them as much as possible.

Seth Godin is telling us to read more blogs. I encourage software testers to do so too.

Leave a Reply

