History

I was never fond of history subjects back in formal school. I don’t know why exactly, but there’s something about history that felt uninteresting to me – maybe I’m just not keen on memorizing facts and figures, maybe it’s because what’s being discussed are stuff that happened decades in the past and those are often terribly difficult to relate to the context of things that are happening now, or maybe I just can’t imagine history questions as puzzles the way I can do it with math, science, english, and the other subjects. Of course I studied for the quizzes and the exams, and I read the books as much as I could, but I don’t remember myself enjoying the process of learning history in school. I wonder if reading those books again today will change something.

On the contrary, I like to stay updated about the history of the applications that I test. The product history is akin to a colleague who helps me find out what important changes have happened during a particular point in time in an application’s active life. He takes notes of how systems evolved from one day to another and tells me why some applications are behaving differently compared to what’s expected. He shows me how software can get sick some of the time, points me to the root causes of problems, and aids programmers in building fixes. He shares stories of brilliant creative work of people who care, which often do not get celebrated, as well as stories of mistakes and challenges that those same people have faced. Most of all, he displays the truth about learning, teamwork, growth, and how the road looks like from starting to continuously delivering.

Leave a Reply

