People Value Different Things

One important thing that the software development process has taught me is that it is done by different groups of people who value different things (even though we usually work towards common goals), and participating in it and succeeding as a software tester means that I need to truly understand who I work with in order to do my best work (as doing my best work is often what matters to me). It does not necessarily mean that I should do the same things the people I work with do, or value the same things they value, but understanding and respecting what makes them tick (or what doesn’t) or what their motivations are (rationally or emotionally) helps me in some way in doing my job well. It is a service kind of work, there are many types of clients, and I don’t think there is any room left in it for hate or blaming if one wants to do it well.

Leave a Reply

