Fiction and Non-Fiction

Mid-year recommended agile and testing books for software testers (or product owners):

I have always enjoyed reading, but back in college it was mostly Stephen King and Bob Ong novels, and the occasional Ayn Rand. They’re entertaining, I imagine characters in all sorts of dire circumstances and challenging situations, they’re educational and inspirational. They talk about the valuable things in life through fiction – adventure, friendship, philosophy, humanity, love  – in all sorts of ways, on all kinds of levels. Years passed since then and my favorite authors list have grown to include Richard Bach, Thomas Harris, Mitch Albom, William Golding, John Steinbeck, C.S. Lewis, John Grisham, among others, people who write fiction too.

But this year I have found myself surprised that I’ve been reading more testing-related, non-fiction books. What’s more surprising is that I have found them to be as refreshing, as educational, and as inspirational as fiction. I still imagine characters in both difficult and fun conditions, the books still talk about important things in life, although the lessons are now more specific, practical, especially to the kind of work that I do.

Leave a Reply

