Cheers To Another Year of Testing

I always spend the last week of December and the first week of January at my parents place in a town called GumacaIt is a six-hour drive from where I work so I only get to stay there during the holidays. Not that I can get much of my work done from there and not that I complain, vacations are always best spent for rest and awesome time with family. Mobile internet is pretty rough from where the house is located and parents haven’t had a real need for wired connection in recent years, so if circumstances require me to go online I’ll have to hitch a ride to someplace closest and go online from there. I don’t mind; I can live off the world wide web for a bit every year. I have Mom and Dad and a brother and his kid to pass the time with, and there’s no shortage of books to read, movies to watch, drawings to plan and paint, and stuff to think about.

And it has always been a habit to think about the new year during such occasions. After gifts have been given and merrymaking thoroughly enjoyed, I can’t help but find myself someplace where I can see the horizon, perhaps looking out a window or standing at a terrace, playing with thoughts of where will I be after another year, of dreams that have yet to happen, of hopes that exist to be achieved, of challenges living and desired to be hurdled. The beginning of another year always have had that effect on me. But I understand that remarkable things do not happen overnight, wishes never granted until necessary dues have been paid. To reach any of these milestones means I may be going through a long route or I might like to take a shortcut and see where it goes; in both ways what it means is that I’m going to have to work for it. I’ll plan what I think I need to do and afterwards I’ll have to test the plan if it works. If it does, great. If it doesn’t, I revise the plan and re-test the new plan and continue revising and re-testing until I get what I’m seeking. Sort of like how software testing gets done, one request at a time.

In short, I guess what I’m saying is I still have aspirations I want to pursue. And this year, I have new plans to test if they can take me there and multiple scenarios to check if they lead me to somewhere wonderful.

I hope you have yours too. Cheers. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

